The Japanese Tea Garden Gets Two Paws Up!

Photo by Simone Garcia

What a terrific day outside! On Tuesday, I took a trip to San Antonio’s Japanese Tea Garden with my mom. This was our second trip to this beautiful location, which in itself is a piece of art. The location is public and dog friendly, so this was a great opportunity for mom and I to hang out together and get some exercise walking around. It was nice to spend some time outside of the house and to get mom away from all of her school work. We both got to de-stress and take in the beautiful scenery around us. It wasn’t very crowded, but everyone who was there thought I was cute and wanted to pet me!

This time around, I took a moment to appreciate the fantastic architecture behind this historical spot. The location is meant to replicate an authentic Japanese Tea Garden and was designed by a Japanese artist in 1926. The area is unlike anywhere else I’ve been in San Antonio, it really felt like I was in a different world and culture. On my walk I saw a lot of interesting rock formations but some of them looked like cats so I had to bark at them just in case. I also picked up some great smells and even made some new fish friends. I didn’t understand why they were in the water and didn’t want to come out and play with me. Really, I don’t understand why anyone likes water, it reminds me of bath time and I do not like bath time.

Photo by Simone Garcia

The Tea Garden really got the creative juices flowing. The landscape was so intriguing, mom was inspired to take a few photos and I got to be her model! This is a great spot to take photos for an event or just for fun; we even caught the sunset and snapped a golden hour photo. What do you think of them? I think it looks like I need to drop a few pounds!

Once we got home, I was exhausted and took a long nap to recover from the walk. Overall, this was a creative and fun experience and I hope that I get to go back very soon. I would highly recommend the Japanese Tea Garden to my dog friends, it is a great spot to walk around and look at beautiful architectural design. If you do go, be sure to send me a picture and say “hello” to my fish friends!

Leave a comment